Climate Change Policy in Newfoundland and Labrador

A landscape image overlooking trees, a mountain and lake

The For A New Earth Logo

FANE co-director’s Sean McGrath and Kyla Bruff served on a committee struck on the 25th of September 2019, announced in a press release from the Leader of the Official Opposition Party for Newfoundland and Labrador, Mr. Ches Crosbie. The task entrusted to it was to advise the PC Leader on how Newfoundland and Labrador can best do its part to help Canada meet its international commitments to the Paris Agreement. Mr. Crosbie appointed the Chair of the Committee, Dr. Sean McGrath, Professor of Philosophy at Memorial University and Director of ENGO For a New Earth, along with two members of the Progressive Conservative Party. The Chair of the Committee appointed the remaining six members of the Committee. At the first meeting of the Committee, in December 2020, it was decided by the Committee that, with all due acknowledgment of the political origins of the Committee, the Committee would be non-partisan and advisory. The Committee planned to report back to the PC Leader in the spring of 2020. The work of the Committee was delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic.

FANE is publishing the work of committee, here, in the hopes of it serving as a basis for on-going policy discussions around climate change.

READ: Report on Climate Change in Newfoundland and Labrador